Sorry I Missed You
Sorry I Missed You
Human Currency | Sorry I Missed You (9)
0:00
-2:26

Human Currency | Sorry I Missed You (9)

Hey! It's Meg, it's been a while since we caught up.

Can you believe Kyle graduated HIGH SCHOOL?!

I remember changing his diapers and now he's a fully grown human on his way to college. It's absolutely WILD!!!

I think about the people we were when we graduated high school and just how much senior year took from me, it was really a miracle that I survived.

And I'm not even talking about the car accident that literally almost killed me.

(Ugh)

I will never forgive that old lady for destroying Pearl. What an amazing first car.

The graduation went well and my family is, well, my family. You know how that is.

It was Papa's birthday last week! He would've been 85.

I can't believe it's been ten years. I mean, the Alzheimer's took his mind long before cancer did but still.

10 years. An entire decade.

Probably 12 years? Since we did duet duck noises at the kitchen table.

And maybe 15 years? Since he could drive us to Wendy's to get a frosty and fries late at night before he went to work.

Fuck.

Is there any worse pain than watching someone you love forget who you are, and then slowly watching them lose themselves too?

If so I don't want to know.

But I'm calling today because I realized something with all of these milestones.

Memories are human currency.

The stories we tell ourselves that give our life value and meaning.

I think that's why I like calling you, or why I started calling you.

Since I've moved far from my roots I've noticed the power memories have to bond people over time and space.

It’s like, memories are the closest thing we've got to time travel.

Commemorative remembrance is where I feel at home.

Speaking of home, I'm actually not home right now.

I'm on my way to Olympia lake with James and some friends for the week so I should probably hang up before I ramble too long.

I'm definitely not done talking about memories though.

Truthfully I don't know if I ever will be but we can chat more next month when travel plans are less busy.

Any who, thanks for always listening.

I really appreciate you.

Chat soon. Byee!

0 Comments
Sorry I Missed You
Sorry I Missed You
Raw, intimate voicemails with Meg, rallying those who crave meaningful connections and seek lasting impact in a noisy world.